Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Climate change is undoubtedly a hot issue around the globe in this era. Regarding this matter, some people hold the view that the prevention of climate change might be replaced by the adaption to live with it. On my perspective, I totally disagree with this view.

Firstly, the prevention of climate change is irreplaceable because humans and animals, in the absence of fighting action against climate change, can be negatively affected. As a result of climate change, rising sea level and coastal soil erosion currently threaten people and industry that located on the coastal areas. Take Philippines as an example, this country lost around 200 ha of coastal land each year due to erosion and sea level rising. Furthermore, warming seawater, another consequence of this environmental problem, triggers the continuous death of coral reefs. In Nha Trang, a glamorous beach city in Vietnam, around hundreds square kilometer of coral reefs are going to die annually when the seawater temperature has increased around 2 degree Celsius.

Secondly, there is no way to live with climate change because physical qualifications of humans and other animals are unable to adapt the rapid change of environment today. If we accept climate change as a part of our lives, we have to face with a lot of fatal diseases like cancer and immunodeficiency diseases that caused by a fast-paced changing temperature, high density of polluted air and a great amount of greenhouse gas emissions (a major factor constituting climate change).

In conclusion, trying to adapt ourselves to the negatively changing environment is necessary to some extent, but I support the opinion of that it is unable to replace the important role of prevention towards climate change.