some people think it is more important to plant more trees in open areas in towns and cities than provide more housing. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Trees play a crucial role in everyone's life, there is a trend that people plant more and more trees in open urban areas. While I agree that this pattern has many benefits to the environment, I believe that it is more important to build houses in those areas.

On the one hand, the benefits of growing more green space in towns are indisputable. It is obvious that trees purify air, which significantly reduces dust generated by transportations and construction sites. Besides that, it also reduces noise pollution through leaves by sound distributing. Hence, generally, the living environment in urban areas will be greatly improved.

On the other hand, the lack of shelter will have many drawbacks. Firstly, in urban areas, it will greatly raise the rental price because of the continuous increase in housing demand, which creates highly financial pressure to most of the people who are living there. For example, more people can not afford an apartment, more social problems will appear, such as raising homeless and crime rate. Secondly, building houses in rural areas also has some negative effects on the economy. It is obvious that commuters will have to transport further and longer to work in city centres, which not only reduces their productivity but also wastes more expense for transport purposes.

In conclusion, planting trees in urban areas to protect the environment is very important. From my point of view, I believe it is more considerable to continue to construct houses in those areas.