Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, public health has been one of the most burning concerns and controversial topics that draws people’s attention across many countries around the world. While it is believed that the government is the only one whose responsibility for inhabitant's health has to be taken, I am an advocate lean on the idea that individuals should be health-conscious and responsible for their health.

Turning to the government’s responsibility side, the first and foremost reason for this idea is that the government is the one having the strongest power in a country, which is required for plenty of social health-related affairs. Covid vaccines might be the most popular example, especially in this pandemic. Due to its high cost and rarity, it is obvious that the government has to regulate the imports as well as injections of such vaccines though there are many billionaires who can afford such vaccine’s cost. Another example is that the government can impose the high tax on products that contain high levels of sugar, which can cause many health problems such as diabetes or obesity.

In contrast, there are many compelling reasons for individuals to take responsibility for their own health. Firstly, according to those who are not health-conscious and have lots of unhealthy habits such as smoking, overdrinking alcohol or other unbalance lifestyles, they are set to risk themselves from many serious health problems such as insomnia or lungs cancer. In other words, it is their duty rather than the government to keep themselves healthy. In addition, there are many other more serious social problems that require attention from the government. For instance, the increasing unemployment and illiteracy rates or the emergence of more crimes.

In conclusion, I completely agree that public health should be the duty of each inhabitant as the government has to tackle other more serious social issues.