Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

As we are living in the era of technology, many schools around the world allow students to carry their personal phones to the campus. While it is evident that these devices play an important role in safety, connectedness and even learning, many schools have come to a decision to restrict the use of phones on campus. In my opinion, this is a positive step and can bring benefits not only academically but also physically and socially too.

Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can boost learning. This is because, students are more likely to be induced by having their phones aside. Without these devices, it would mean that fewer distractions for learners and teachers. When a student brings their phone in their pocket or bag, for instance, there is an irresistible impulse to check constantly for texts, social media updates. Even the most sharp-eyed teacher cannot prevent them from sneakily checking their messages or browsing irrelevant materials on the internet during the lesson. These countless distractions draw attention away from important educational matters and possibly wear down attention spans, which result in long-term effects on academic performance. Therefore, a blanket ban on phones during class free student from this compusive tendency and allow them to pay attention.

Furthermore, by forbidding the use of the phone outside the classroom, schools can expect improvements in student wellbeing. In fact, if phones are banned during recess and lunchtime, the student have no choice but to engage in a more meaningful and perhaps active way with their classmates. They could play games, sports, or simply having a talk with their fellows, such activities are far healthier than just sitting alone hunched over the screen for hours. Thus, without such mandatories imposed by the school, children are not able to draw the line on phone use. These social and physical merits are only achievable with strict mobile rules.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the use of mobile phones in schools should be limited, despite the indispensable role of phones in our modern lives. With solid boundaries and bans in some circumstances, students are able to gain a better concentration span, strengthen friendships and involve in a more dynamic and healthier activities.