Some suggest that the young people should take a job for a few years between school and university.

Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this

Some people hold the opinion that the youngsters should pursue a few-year job between their senior high and their further education. This way of thinking has its own pros and cons.

On the one hand, spending several year on a temporary job before attending universities has some undeniable advantages. In this way, students may be able to gain some hands-on experience about the particular aspect of work that they will do in the future. These students will have better social and communicative skills, which enable them to become more effective employees. In addition, a short-term job can provide them with an amount of money to help them with their further education tuition and fees. If one decide to enrol at the university immediately after their high school, they will possibly have to rely on the financial support from families for accommodation, transportation…

On the other hand, the decision of not going to a universities can have some drawbacks. For the most part, the Vietnamese parents do not want their child to apply for further education later than anyone else in their age groups. The definition of “gap year” has just only arrived in Vietnam for a few years and has not been popular among the Vietnamese yet. So people will consider it as a risk more than a chance. A safer choice is to go to universities right away. On top of that, the longest time duration it can takes is about 7 years to finish some universities in Vietnam such as medical univesities… It will be to late to pursue a career at the time you graduate.

In conclusion, taking some gap years or not depend on people’s condition. It’s not very problematic as you have already considered carefully about your decision.