Some teachers think that international student exchange programs would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that all teenage school students would gain plenty of benefits from foreign exchange programmes. In my perspective, there are some drawbacks of this view, I believe that the benefits are more significant.

On the one hand, there are a number of major disadvantages when teenage pupils decide to engage in international exchange projects. Firstly, schoolchildren who are a member of global undergraduate transfer programs may suffer from culture shock. Exchange students might be faced with unfamiliar customs and different faiths, which could easily lead to misunderstanding, tension and conflict with local residents. As a result, it may be difficult for them to concentrate entirely on their studies when they are struggling to adapt to a new life. Secondly, participation in worldwide trainee exchange programs can increase the financial burden on their families. In fact, the cost of living and studying abroad especially in developed countries is extremely expensive. Therefore, parents whose income at a low or average level will have headaches to be able to support their children fully.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the benefits that such programmes bring to students are far more significant than the drawbacks. To begin with, exchange students are given the opportunity to meet different people from all over the world and learn a range of skills that they might not have a chance to learn if studying in their home country. For example, they can extend their knowledge by experiencing diverse cultures, and living and talking with natives that will help them train their language. Another benefit is that living in a different country encourages exchange students to become more independent.

In conclusion, with the reasons aforementioned above, although exchange students might have difficulties in adapting to the new culture and following international school curriculums, I think that the benefits of global exchange projects do outweigh those cons.