Topic: Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that environmental preservation should be only the duty of government officials because the contribution of individuals is trivial. Personally, I accept the importance of politicians, however, I think that everyone should be responsible for solving environmental problems, no matter we are politicians or normal people.

It is undeniable that lawmakers might play an essential role in protecting the earth. In order for serious environmental issues such as global warming, violent storms, or prolonged droughts, to be addressed effectively, it requires numerous resources including a large amount of money, the special equipment, and the strict regulation. Obviously, only politicians who are able to utilize the power of the government and connect to other massive organizations have the ability to provide all resources above. In terms of financial resources, they could use the tax collected from citizens to invest in environmental researches as well as cooperate with some large-scale companies to raise environmental funds. Furthermore, they could formulate more strict laws to reduce the damage to the environment which could not be conducted at the individual level.

However, I believe that individuals also can make a huge contribution to preserving the environment in their own way. We have appropriate 8 billion people living around the world. Imaging each person only do one thing to protect the environment, we have nearly 8 billion actions. In another sense, if each person plants one tree per year, we will have billions of trees every year, which is an unbelievable result. In addition, the awareness of individuals is the key factor for the success of any protecting environmental programs. For example, if farmers continue to cut down trees in the forest illegally without realizing the long-term drawbacks, deforestation will be never tackled, although the government has posed many rigorous rules before.

In conclusion, I believe that environmental protection should be the responsibility of everyone. Only by working together can we preserve the environment better and easier.