The users of social media, such as facebook, twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to the advent of technology, many people prefer to use social network such as facebook and twitter as their crucial means of communication throughout recent years. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are two major drawbacks when users live in the virtual world, which not only restricts their direct communications but also adversely affects users’ physical health. Firstly, users of social media tend to express their ideas excellently on the internet in lieu of interacting with others in the real world. In particular, children may undergo many public speaking contests at school, however, they do not know how to deal with the authentic contexts which suddenly take place in their real world. Secondly, there are several detrimental effects on human’s health because the wide range of people work with computers or smart phones for an unhealthy amount time. For example, more and more users may face with eye problem such as short-sighted due to playing with gadgets at all times.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits in terms of connectivity and business development are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that people are able to contact with anyone regardless of where they are. This would bring about outstanding advantages of more convenient access to education and facilitation for information updates. For instance, students have great opportunities to take part in any online courses for improving languages purposes. Another reason is that enterprises will take advantage of social network platform to launch advertising or promotion campaigns. Consequently, business reputation is quickly widespread in the public communities resulting increasing the income significantly.

In conclusion, although there are some weaknesses of using social media, I am convinced that these strengths are superior to the limitations.