The best way to improve health is to do regular exercise. To what extent do you agree?

It is a well-known fact that exercise is essential for good health. Some people believe that the most effective solution for improving health is to exercise daily. I can only partially agree with this opinion because having a nutritious and healthy diet is equally necessary for enhancing health.

Regular exercise is beneficial for our health in several ways. It strengthens bones and muscles and thus helps avoid many health problems, especially during old age. Exercise also keeps blood pressure and cholesterol in control to prevent heart-related diseases. Additionally, scientists have proven that regular exercise increases mental fitness and helps prevent stress. Thus it is evident that exercise enhances mental ability as well as physical fitness and thus prolongs life.

However, if exercise is not supplemented with a healthy and nutritious diet, the human body will not be able to reap benefits. A research performed by students at the University of Michigan suggests that exercise will not aid health if the diet is not controlled. Muscle fibres break apart when we exercise hard and they need to be repaired by proteins in our diet. So, heavy protein intake becomes essential for regular exercise. Similarly, if we exercise for longer periods, then carbohydrates and fats are also vital for our body. Moreover, exercising daily does not mean that we are allowed to eat food with high sugar or salt.

To conclude, day to day exercise is the best solution for developing and improving health provided that it is supported well with a nutritious and balanced meal.