In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Elder people in Britain prefer to spend their retirement life in old age home as there are specialized nurses to take care of them. They were able to mingle with similarly aged people and share their life experience. The Government provides monetary assistance to run these social organizations. In my opinion, the government should continue to provide all the necessary assistance to these homes and should not expect monetary support from the families of the elder people.

In the modern world, the concept of joint family is diminishing and we are living a nuclear life. Everyone in the family is either occupied with work or pursing education. This leaves the elder people to stay alone at home which creates a loneliness environment around them. When they need of any assistance, there will no one around them to suffice their requirements. For Example, during the recent flood, 70 years coupled got locked into their apartments and were unable to move to a safer location for survival. With the help of fire department, they were rescued after two days in a critical condition for life.

Given the existing situation, it is difficult to hire a caretaker for managing the elder people in every resident. Moreover, these elder people were contributed to the nation directly by serving in the government sector, armed forces or indirectly supported the government by paying their taxes during their earning tenure. Hence it is the responsibility of government to take of their citizens especially during their retirement period.

I would like to conclude that the old home ages will continue to grow strong and make many elder people happy during the last leg of their life if the Government provides necessary support especially monetary benefit to run these social organizations.