Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Recently, the use of complementary forms of medicine has become popular. However, there is a belief that such modalities are not effective, and even worse, they might cause detrimental side effect. I personally agree with this statement and will discuss my reasons in the following.

To begin with, the numerous numbers of alternative approaches has not been scientifically approved. In another word, no scientific research has been documented the value of efficiency and effectiveness of those methods in treatment of diseases. To give you an example, currently, a Chinese approach called acupuncture has been introduced in treating various illnesses such as cancer, blood pressure and obesity. Although this traditional modality has been applied from many years ago in China, the exact mechanism of this way and its value in healing patients has not been academically approved.

Moreover, the devastating effect of some alternative medication has become a concern for practitioners. To illustrate this vividly, research studies showed some herbal remedies might contain a percentage of poisonous ingredient which might harm for the health. They believe the prescription of those in a high dosage can increase the risk of poisonous and even worse can cause the disfunction of many organs such as liver and kidney in the body. For instance, Zaffran which is a fragrant and common spicy in food recipes, can lead to fetus abortion whether pregnant woman consumed the high amount of this plant.

To conclude, although some traditional and supplementary approaches have been devised for treating illnesses, no approve has been taken by any validate medical organization. Therefore, it is highly recommended that individuals follow modern approved medications.