Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that supermarkets, which are thriving at such a rapid pace, are going to affect the business of local people which have small business, and are unable to compete with these business tycoons. I opine in favor of this as I completely agreed with the statement. But before going into details, one should keep in mind that pros and cons are always there.

First of all, supermarkets have snatched local markets' customers with their lucrative advertisements, which have switched the customers to buy from them instead of local shops. It has been observed that in the last ten years, there is a notable hike in the percentage of customers who prefer to buy from these mega malls, causing a perceptible decline in the sales of local stores.

Moreover, these mega stores are also responsible for upheaval in local business by causing their profit to drop. The strategy of supermarket owners is to buy the stock in the bulk amount which cuts down the purchasing cost as well which in turn, lowers the prices of their products as well. However, small and medium business owners are unable to purchase at such a large scale and are forced to buy stock on full price but in order to compete with business giants, they have to cut down the prices of their products as well causing their profits to decline which could be the final nail in the coffin.

To conclude, supermarkets direct or indirectly disturbs the local business, and to resolve this issue, the government must take serious actions to support these micro business owners to let them survive.