In the future robots may do more of the work that is done by humans today. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The future competition between robots and humans has been much debated recently. Evidence suggests that more of the work could be done by robots rather than humans in the future. Although there are a number of benefits accruing from this development, I believe the drawbacks involved are more.

On the plus side, there are some advantages to using robots. To begin with, robots never get tired and do not need to have a break. In other words, on the contrary to humans who need to rest on a regular basis, machines can work for a prolonged time with succession. Clearly, this can boost the efficiency of production lines and other parts of a company. Another positive aspect of using robots is that they are less likely to make mistakes. Take those machines being used in industrial organizations as an example; since they can be programmed before doing their tasks, they are able to carry out the tasks more accurately. Admittedly, they have some errors, but they are minor and can be solved immediately.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, robots doing more of the work has serious consequences. The most axiomatic argument is concerned with people being laid off by their employers. This is mainly because the more job prospects shrink in favor of robots, the fewer job vacancies are available for humans, and in turn, the less need is felt by employers to keep their human workers. Obviously, after being made redundant, these workers will find it a struggle to earn a decent living. As a result, they probably turn to crime in order to cover their expenses. In addition, robots cannot be always reliable; in cases when there is no electricity, they will be useless.

In conclusion, irrespective of the benefits of jobs being done more by robots, I think it can be more problematic for humans. Provisions should also be made to ensure that humans’ job prospects are in first priority in job markets in future societies.