Many parents believe that when their children read books for entertainment, they are wasting their time, and that they should read only serious educational books.

What is your opinion about this?

Books, play an important role in building character of children. They provide with an opportunity to increase vocabulary and get knowledge about different things. There is a mix opinion about what sort of books children should read; few people believe they should only focus on educational and course books, while others believe children should be allowed to read whatever books they want to. This essay will discuss the importance of reading books, which are not related to course and how they contribute.

These days methods of teaching and learning have changed as compared to past. But, course books haven't changed much, they are still same.However, in order to be competitive in today's world every child needs to adapt to changes, that are happening around him. Focusing only on course books will only provide limited knowledge, which is nothing as compared with the standards and quality of knowledge, an individual can collect by reading entertainment books.

Moreover, entertainment books provide an opportunity to relax and spend time with yourselves. As, every individual gets tired with reading course related stuff. There are different methods for children to relax; some prefer playing sports, while some prefer reading entertainment books. Reading books help you to divert your mind from daily routine. However, at this point it is important for parents to encourage their children to read variety of books, as long as they are reading books they shouldn't be worried about it.

In my opinion, reading books is a good habit. As, this helps children to improve their vocabulary and increase reading speed as well. Reading entertainment books provide with an opportunity to increase knowledge about different subjects. Therefore, parents should encourage their children to read books and give freedom to their children to read whatever they want to read.