Many parents encourage young people to leave home when they become older, while others think they should stay at home with the family. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some parents want their children to leave home and live separately when they become adults whereas others believe that children should keep living with their families. While young people can support their parents when staying at home, I believe that children need to move out of their families’ houses in order to start taking responsibility.

On the one hand, people want children to keep staying with them because there will be times that they require the help of their offspring. When the young stay at home, they will be able to support their parents at any time, especially in some urgent situations. For example, last year, my best friend in college was able to get his father, who was having a heart attack, to the hospital in time thanks to him staying at home instead of the school campus. However, I feel that children cannot become independent if they keep staying with their families.

On the other hand, young people should leave home so that they can learn to take responsibility. When youngsters live away from home, they have to deal with some matters, such as paying for accommodation and buying food, by themselves. Therefore, they will need to find a job to make money, and thus, become more responsible with their lives. For instance, an article of the New York Times in 2012 indicated that 60 percent of college students, who were living in dormitories, had a job and a better management of money spending. I believe that children will grow more maturely when they choose to live away from their parents.

In conclusion, despite the fact that, when young people stay at home, they can assist their parents in times of need, I think that they should really move out and begin to take charge of their lives.