More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years the companies policies are gearing towards working from home over the alternative to traditional office-based employment.

In my opinion, this style of working brings more benefits than drawbacks for both the employees and employers.

Considering firstly advantages of this style of working, an imperative one is that it is more time-efficient. This is because it reduces the travelling time of the employees'. To illustrate, as per a report published in 2019, usually, an employee spent around 20 percent of his time in commuting to and fro from the office. Hence, as a result of enabling this practice, they are freed up with more time for performing other useful activities. Another crucial advantage of this approach is that it is more cost-efficient for the employers. The reason for this is that most of the employees will visit the office occasionally. This will help employers in saving cost on the required infrastructure such as office space as now they can be shared by many employees. To illustrate, reports have shown that many companies profit has increased after enabling policies work as a result of the relaxed environment and saving on infrastructure by introducing an open floor in spite of named office concept.

However, this way of working does bring problems. One of the common problems is that it acts as a deterrent for employees' health. This is because usually houses are not equipped with proper infrastructure required for working. For example, a person who has to work on computers for long hours need a proper desk and chair for avoiding injuries in their spinal cord. Nevertheless, these ill health effects can be avoided by taking proper cautiousness.

In conclusion, although working from home is more employee time-efficient and cost-friendly for the employers, can bring some ill-effects on the health which can be avoided by taking proper rest and cautiousness. Hence, In my opinion, remote working is more advantageous for both employees and employers.