Nawadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organisation, why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Currently individuals prefer to build theirs business, and work for themselves, instead than being a monthly wage earner. From my point of view, I think that they want to be independent on theirs work, and this obviously had a bad sides on self-employed.

First of all, according to many people, they prefer to be free because that will allow them to set the working hours, also to fit the work with other commitments, which can lead to an improved quality of life. Moreover they run the business and they take the full responsibility of its success and failure . For example, during this pandemic virus covid 19, 70% of employees released from theirs position in my current company, cause of drop down of the oil and gas economy, as results most of them decide to start a new career with theirs own jobs.

Secondly, it is worth considering that, working for your self has bad impacts on the individuals, to began with lack of employee benefits , that means that you won't get sick pay, holiday pay,or any other employee benefits. In addition your working hours may be longer, and irregular than someone who isn't self employed. Moreover, you will pay tax even if your business makes a loss, which can lead to increase your stress levels .

To sum up, I believe that the main cause that makes people work for themselves is the independence, but this certainly has disadvantages, such as, lack of employee benefits, longer working hours,and finally more responsibilities even in failure.