People should work a fixed number of hour per week, and employer» should not ask anybody to work more than this.

These days, working for longer hours have become a norm of the society. I believe there should be a fixed number of hour a person should work for per week, and companies should not demand for anybody to work for more hours than the stipulated fixed time. After all long working hours is not beneficial to the employer and worker.

Workers’ fatigue is a significant problem in modern industry, largely because of high demand jobs, long duty periods, disruption of circadian rhythms, and accumulative sleep debt that are common in many industries. Recent study by the workers welfare union in Estonia shows that workers tends to be less effective in production when working for extended hours. One major reason for this to the fact that tiredness affects everyone regardless of skill, knowledge, and training. It has influences directly on many people's physical and mental abilities needed to carry out even simple task. The most important effects of fatigue including decreased task motivation, longer reaction time, reduction of alertness, impaired concentration, poorer psychometric coordination, problems in memory and information processing, and poor judgment. Nearly half of U.S. workers say they routinely put in more than 50 hours on the job each week, often without overtime pay. But employers should probably start politely declining the "free" gift, new research suggests. A good example, is a research that attempts to quantify the relationship between hours worked and productivity found that employee output falls sharply after a 50-hour work-week, and falls off a cliff after 55 hours—so much so that someone who puts in 70 hours produces nothing more with those extra 15 hours Thus, there should be a fixed number of hours per week which people should work to prevent all this.

Working for lengthy hours can also result to severe health implications on peoples life. Such as cardiovascular disorder. For example, arteriosclerosis heart disease. It can also have a reproductive effect especially in women, it may present special risks to women of child bearing age.

Workers who engage in shift work or who work long hours can experience considerable disruption of family and social activities as many of these rhythms of the general population are oriented around the day. Saturday and Sunday work, for example, can preclude involvement in sporting events or religious activities. Long hour work can therefore lead to social marginalization. Family and marital responsibilities can be severely disrupted by shift work or long hours. Childcare, housework, shopping, and leaving a partner alone at night can all lead to marital strain and family dysfunctions.

In conclusion, there should be a fixed number of hour per week someone should work. In order for company to achieve maximum productivity and for the individual to have a work life balance. These way is beneficial for both parties.