In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

With development of big shopping centres or malls recently, a lot of localized small shops have been closed as people prefer to do shopping from these malls. In my opinion, I consider that a large population is being benefitted by this trend but there are certain people of society in developing and under-developed countries who are so affected that they struggle to survive.

With globalization, things of different cultures and even different countries are available locally in shopping malls which definitely seem to be a positive development. All material of different sizes and range is available in these malls and one does not needs to go to different shops to search for things of their choice. Further, in shopping malls, goods are available at competitive prices which ultimately benefits consumers. Moreover, shopping malls are considered to be a place where people can do shopping enjoying with family leisurely.

On the other side, Local shops understand the needs of local community which shopping malls cannot fulfil. Increasing shopping malls are affecting local shops and those who operate at small level have started to close their business as they find it hard to survive the competitive market. This trend is creating lot of problems such as unemployment and for an under-developed or developing countries this trend is difficult to tackle as there are many other problems for example poverty, proper education system and problem of unemployment worsen the situation.

In conclusion, although, I believe that shopping centres and malls represents that society is progressing, while there are adverse effects on localized communities of underdeveloped and developing countries.