Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Business success is a subject about which employers are concerned these days. In terms of this matter, employers go to the extra mile to motivate employees and allocate some rewards, like money, to the best one. Notwithstanding employers believe it is the best impetus, it has some disadvantages in my estimation.

Getting disappointed and losing confidence are some of its demerits which influence other employees. However, there are other kinds of reward motivating people as well. Getting disappointed is the first demerit of paying money to someone as a reward. There is no doubt that a team-work works jointly. Hence, when a person is chosen for extra money, others assume that they are disparaged and no one understands their attempts. In such circumstances, they are reluctant to continue their work eagerly. However, if the reason of allocating extra money to someone is explicit, others will perceive their own weakness and will admire their honourable colleague.

Another drawback of some encouragements like money is losing confidence. It does not take much common sense to find out a disappointed person doesn’t enjoy enough confidence to surmount problems. Based on immense explorations in the domain of psychology, 70% of employees who are working gloomily can’t make a correct decision, due to lack of confidence and self-esteem. They are always contemplating whether their boss likes their decision or suggestion or not!

Beside paying excess money as a reward, there are other kinds of encouragement which are less detrimental to others’ spirit. Granting promotion is one of the multitude solutions which can act as an incentive for some people. Not only does it represent the best employee’s competence, but also it provides circumstances which the best can guide others!

All in all, these days, companies’ developments have haunted employers dreams. Thus, they spare no effort to courage employees to do their best and they pay money as a reward. Unfortunately, these kinds of reward have reverse impact including getting disappointed and losing confidence- on others. As I stood before, there are various kinds of rewards such as granting promotion. These kinds of award enjoy less negative impact and courage others as well.