Some people think that to reduce traffic problem people will come from rural areas to live in urban areas. What extant do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that traffic and tranportation problem will be eradicated if people migrate from countryside to urban area. However, I think it will multiply the issue rather than solving it. Urbanization will bring a lot more traffic problems to cities because of increase in urban population, more transport services are required to facilitate people. In this essay I will discuss my opinion with example.

Urbanization means there will be more vehicles in cities as citizen from different age groups will need them to move around. In oder to fulfil their task and responsibilities, residence will need vehicles to go to restaurants, education centers and hospitals. For instance, common people required vehicle like car and buses to complete their tasks such as jobs, festivals and education. This will augment the traffic congestion on roads instead of decreasing it. In addition, if urbanization will speed up, urban area will expand for sure which means further development of houses and infrastructure will require. This development of housing and infrastructures will cause burden on existing roads. Heavy lorries, for example loaded with construction material will block the traffic of old roads. Therefore, encouraging people to live in the countryside will reduce the traffic problem.

Notwithstanding the idea of urbanization, I think rural and countryside will develop both economically and physically. If employment opportunities would provided there, inhabitants of these area will not come to metropolitan areas to seek jobs. This would reduce demand of taxi and buses from transportation sector. Also, as long as these areas would equipped with facilities like gardens, recreational places, hospitals, educational centers, entertainment and parks, people would not visit cities again and again. By reducing number of trips, transport needs can be easily fulfilled and traffic crowding will not seen.

To conclude, after transforming suburbs into self-sufficient industrial, agriculture commercial hubs, traffic and transportation issue can be solved in already exiting cities. Whereas, encouraging people to migrate from urban to rural areas will amplify this issue.