There are more cars on the roads these days and more accidents. As a result, some politicians have suggested that people should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single test.

What do you think are the advantages of repeat driving tests? Do these outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It has become necessary that people commute daily in the modern world and usage of cars has grown exponentially when compared to the past. This has been resulting in more accidents. In order to reduce this plight, some statesmen suggest that the driving licence should be issues with an expiry and the drivers have to take regular tests to get them renewed. I believe this a positive idea to make people constantly aware of the rules and also help traffic departments make amendments to rules as necessary

To begin with, the licence is issued for a lifetime in most of the countries. So, the holders who have acquired a licence in back old days will not be aware of the new rules implemented timely. Due to this, these drivers may be confused by the modern signposts. Consequently, making them to break few rules and resulting in accidents. If they are asked to take the driving test regularly every two years, they would be able to drive safely and responsibly following the rules

Added to this, if the licence expiry is set to short period, the government and traffic departments can constantly monitor on the number of active drivers and the number of cars hitting the roads on a regular basis. With this data, a better planning of roads that are safer and adding of further safety or traffic rules can be developed

To recapitulate, though regular tests may cause some inconvenience, it has a definite benefit that people drive responsibly in accordance with the rules avoiding accidents