TOO MANY OLD HISTORIC BUILDINGS ARE IN DANGER AND DESTROYED IN MANY COUNTRIES. WHAT ARE THE MAIN REASON? HOW TO PROTECT THEM?

It is said that numerous ancient monument are at the verge of extinction, and even demolished in number of nations. Although there are various causes such as constructing new buildings by the government instead of protecting the old ones, different steps are taken like providing funds by officials to secure the historical buildings.

More complexes are made by an incumbent government as a replacement of heritage structures’ concern. Because of development of technology and modernization of society, people are leaning their interests to these shopping centers and cinema halls for their entertainment. This will, consequently, decrease interest of government in ancient buildings due to which these are at their destruction point. For instance, in Patiala, ruling officials spend their money in reconstructing an old cinema, Phul, instead of investing funds on renovation of Castle of Mirrors, a historical monument, which is closed from last ten years. Thus, this magnificent building is destroying due to lack of care and interests.

Nevertheless, government can take various appropriate measures to safeguard the famous immemorial buildings. Every year in country’s budget, allocation of funds should be done in such a way that an adequate amount is used on ancient structures, which includes these buildings proper care and repairing, and helps in protecting them from destruction. Moreover, many important facts of renowned historical monuments like The Golden Temple or The Red Fort are to be included in curriculum of students, which will bring curiosity in them to visit these buildings. Hence, Government makes efforts to maintain glory of these buildings, so that these can be in more danger.

In conclusion, with the advancement of time, various complexes are opening for public interests; however, government can protect antique buildings by providing sufficient funds, and including the knowledge of heritage structures in the pupils’ studies.