Your school has enough money to purchase either computer for students or books for the library. Which should your school choose to buy – computers or books? Use specific reasons and examples to support your recommendation.

As we move into the twenty-first century, technology is affecting many different areas of life and undoubtedly education is no exception. There has been much debate whether schools should assign their money to purchase computer for students or books for the library. For me, this is an understandable point of view that computers should be taken into account as an integral part of student’s education and schools should spend their budget to provide computers owing to Value Added that it will bring to students.

There are numerous reasons why computers should be placed in education process. Firstly, from an educational point of view, the students who utilize computers in their study have easy access to wide variety of E-books that can boost the quality and efficiency of education in schools. Secondly, from an environmental perspective, applying traditional books threaten the environment, therefore, E-books should be taken over the position of printing books during the time. Research findings confirm that air pollution rate has been reduced in the countries that their schools use computers rather than printed books for education.

Furthermore, computers can be used to facilitate learning. Since being familiar with computers provide students an opportunity to benefit from having access to the Internet and, in turn studying scientists’ biography and different cultures can broaden the horizon of the students. According to a survey at the University of London, the students who deprived of computers in their schools are more likely to suffer from lack of sufficient knowledge about their fields of study. This situation is compounded by the fact that interaction with foreign world is indispensable for fields they are studying.

In conclusion, with the advancement in technology, schools should allocate their money to purchase the computers for students. I strongly believe that computers are effective both environmentally and socially.