Do you agree or disagree: The way people dresses is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

Definitely, the society consists of numerous individuals with diversified personalities. And it is because the individualism that makes it extremely difficult for us to learn about others completely. When referring to how to know more about one another, people have been always raised controversy about the means. The vast majority of people believe that the dressing styles of people can literally reveal their traits. However, I definitely disagree this statement since the way people dress actually depends on many other factors.

Admittedly, some people may concern that the type of people’s clothes can betray their characters. When people choose their clothes, their preference as well as traits will be subconsciously reflected. For instance, people who always wear casually, such as wearing t-shirts, jeans and sneakers are more likely to be outgoing and easy-going due to their carelessness of appearance. Conversely, people who are in formal and delicate suits all the time may be the same rigid in their daily life since they may take everything seriously, including the clothes. Therefore, the aforementioned reasons can account for why some people believe that people’s dressing style can be on behalf of their personalities to some extent.

However, I oppose their statement due to the fact that we should take other key factors into consideration when evaluating some one else. In most cases, the clothes people wear are not the ones they actually like. For instance, a considerable number of enterprises make rules about the types of clothing of their staff, such as requiring them to wear uniforms. Because it can help display favorable images to the public. In other word, the uniforms will exhibit their overall qualities, including the high working efficiency and reliability, to the masses. In this case, it is difficult for us to learn about others through their clothing due to the striking similarities of everyone’s dressing.

What’s more, in most cases, people may take advantage of certain types of clothing to conceal the drawbacks of their body, thus it is inaccurate for us to gain information about their real personalities from their daily dressing. For example, some people who are a little bit fat may dress in black frequently, even though they have preference in white clothes. Also, they may often wear long dresses, but it is not ascertained that they love this kind of clothes. Instead, it is entirely probable that they just make use of these dresses to disguise the fact that they have put on weight recently. Hence, we can never ensure that we get the exact information of one’s characters merely from her clothing.

In sum, although some people may consider observing one’s dressing style as an effective way to view her personalities, I believe that it is abrupt to evaluate one’s traits merely through her clothing in absence of several key factors.