part-time job

Due to the fierce competition, nowadays more and more parents encourage their children to take a part-time job to get more working skills for the future, while others believe that students should focus on study instead of waste their time on other things. In my opinion, I definitely agree with the idea of taking a part-time job. Reasons are as follows.

First and foremost, taking a part-time job would be a perfect excise for interpersonal skills, which can be useful for their future career. Though part-time jobs, students can meet more friend in all kinds of style, which they can not meet in school. Take my cousin Anna as an example. She was working in a book store near Harvard University during last summer vacation.At first she was timid and quiet. But though the daily work, she got more confidence. Her serious working attitude and humorous jokes finally helped her to make a lot of friends in the store, including some successful professors in Harvard. This part-time working experience turned out helping her to get the offer from Harvard.

Moreover, part-time jobs could ease their parents' financial stress. As we all know, due to the high tuition and expensive living expense, parents are saving money for their children and hardly spend a penny for their own. When I was young, my mother even had to take two jobs to pay my tuition. So I believe that is our duty to release their burden.

Finally, focusing only on study would be too stressful for students. Without the necessary relax and experiences, students would easily get some mental illness. A recent paper published on Nature Medicine, a top academic journal of the world, mentioned that overload academic stress will raise the risk of mental disease by 30%. On the other hand, doing some part-time jobs would be an easy way to ease the stress and improve their efficiency of studying.

In a nut shell, doing part-time job is like a bridge to the adult life. Although it may be a little bit tired for students to do it , yet the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.