When schools do not have enough funding or teachers, some people think physical education classes should be cut, while others believe that courses in art and music should be eliminated first. Which do you think is preferable, and why?

In a inadvertant situation, when schools have scarcity of funds or teachers, they have to make harsh decisions. Sometimes, they have to cut down the physical education classes, while in other cases some believe in eliminating art and music should be the ones whose classes should be cut. In my opinion, its the art and music classes that should be cut in order to compensate for the fundings or to face the scarcity of teachers. In the following paragraphs, I present few justifications to bolster the stand taken.

I believe in sustaining the physical educations classes, while cutting off the music and art classes as I myself am a fitness enthusiast, though it might be considered a prejudiced decision. But let me justify myself. I think, whether you are a fan of physical activities and education, you should not take it in a non-serious manner. As our physical fitness should be among our utmost priorities. It is required for every other task that we perform. So, rather than keeping it aside, we should consider it as an mandatory routine, as it is one of the vital needs of our body. Whereas, we could compromise on other hobbies and skills, as we could live without it for a while. But, this must be kept in mind that, here effort is not being put to demean the music and art but instead, intention is to emphasize the importance of physical education.

Moving on, another reason of me supporting physical education over music and art is that such skills can be learnt from the internet or by other means if the candidate is self-motivated enough. But physical education is the one that must be learned, practiced and performed in presence of professionals only as it involves risks of injury in most of the cases. So, instead of leaving the responsibility of physical education on children incase the physical educations classes are proposed to being cut, we should rather let them perform and learn them in presence of professionals only.

At the end, I would like to conclude by saying that, in a scenario, where we need to make this tough decision, we must take stand in favor of physical education. Although, I would like add an additional opinion at the end that student's opinions must be taken into account. In case majority of students are ardent followers of art and music, it would'nt make sense sustaining physical education classes in this case.