Advantages and disadvantages of mass media.
Mass media plays a pivotal role in our life. Many people and businesses rely on these
mediums for their day to day transactions. On the flip-side it also bombards us with too
much or unwanted information. This essay will shed a light on various aspects of this
issue.Newspapers, radio, television, and the Internet—including e-mail and blogs—are
significantly influential on our society, especially in affirming attitudes and opinions that
are already established. The news media focus the public’s attention on certain
personalities and issues, leading many people to form opinions about them
Mass media sets the news agenda, which shapes the public's views on what is
newsworthy and important. It is a system used by advertisement agencies and media
outlets, such as television channels and radio stations to "convince" their audiences to do
or act in a certain way. It appeals to the vulnerability of the desired target. For instance
famous person or persons who are recognized, admired by whole communities. These
individuals have the "Power" to convince their followers or fans into taking any kind of
action or decision. Therefore, these famous people usually are linked or work for some
media outlet and are used, to influence the community accordingly.
The media has changed significantly in the past years. Because of the availability of
television and radio all populations and classes have been exposed to various types of
media. The Internet has provided an even newer media resource. The majority of people
live in a very fast paced society. They have very little time for reading and exploring the
truth of information. The producers of media publication are aware of this and use the
media to influence public choice and opinion. The problem lies in that many people are
gullible and society as a whole is easily influenced by the media representations. The
media also responds to public demand and provides the information that the public
craves.
A positive aspect of the media’s bias has been that it has facilitated change in people’s
perception of races in a positive manner, exposed people to other cultures, made people
aware of environmental needs, and the needs of people far away. While there can also
be negative implications the media also has to reflect the public’s point of view. With the
growing representation of Hispanics, African Americans, and other minority groups, the
media is under pressure to present them in a more positive light.