Advantages & Disadvantages of Cashless Society.

It has been observed that many countries are transforming towards cashless. This essay will discuss firstly, how going to cashless make people life hassle free and then discuss the negative effects of it.

By having an environment with complete automated payment systems will make citizens life stressless. This cashless place will let people perform smoother transactions as they no longer need to carry raw money in their wallets. Apart from this benefit, the transactions can be paid with the exact amount of money without losing any additional cents by not carrying exact change. When I visited Singapore earlier this year, I was fascinated by their way of dealing money transactions using cards and felt so much relaxed there was no need to carry a huge amount of money everywhere.

However, on the other side of the coin, switching to autopay methods also have ramifications. This process must be supported with a sophisticated security system to ensure both buyer and seller not to lose a single penny at any cost. A small security glitch in the system could make the whole country to go bankrupt. For instance, The New York Times reported earlier this year that there were about 2 million cyber attacks occurred in the last year and approximately USD 5 Billion was stolen with a myriad of credentials were compromised.

In conclusion, the benefits, such as having a stressfree life by dealing with online or cards, must be outweighed the negatives, such as secure infrastructure. Overall, the advantages of going cashless outweigh the disadvantages because card or online transactions always have complex security algorithms to break.