Communication has changed significantly in the last 10 years. Discuss the positive and negative impacts of this change.

Technology has always changed the way we communicate with each other. Back in the 50’s era, landline phones brought a revolution in the field of communication. Since then there was a drastic change in our primary communication method. The introduction of smartphones has made its user’s life much more comfortable but this change is not entirely a good thing. There are both pros and cons of this change. I will elaborate my views further in this article.

Earlier we need to visit someone’s home to convey a message, and now it is just a matter of click, and the message is delivered to the person sitting in any corner of the world. The Smartphones have not only changed the way we connect with other people but now we can’t imagine life without these devices. For example, Personal safety apps use GPS tracking system which helps us to get home safely even at midnight. Some people can’t spend a single day without their smartphones.

From shutting down the alarm clock in our smartphone early morning till checking emails before sleeping, in all smartphone is in our all activities. And as a result, it has made us anti-social. In the effort to connect with other people who are far away from us, we are ignoring those who are sitting right beside us. To avoid getting ignored they too get themselves busy in the smartphone. For example: If you are in a room with your near and dear ones, there are more chances that everyone is working with his/her smartphone rather than conversing with each other.

A study suggests that the use of smartphones have negatively affected conversations held between good friends. Though in the past ten years our communication level has increased but just hitting the ‘send’ button does not mean a productive conversation. As technology is advancing, we are getting more introvert.

Taking cues from my personal experience, I can say that smartphones are more of a distraction. The face-to-face conversation will always remain the most effective method of communication, and it’s better to turn off the smartphones or at least resist the temptation to reach for it immediately when talking to a friend or someone.