Do you think formal written assessments in today's world to assess students’ performance is effective or not? Discuss your viewpoint on this and support your answer with examples.

These days, there is ongoing debate between people about effectiveness of formal written assignments in current era. Some people seem to be either passionate supporters or some seem to be opponents,. They may have empirical and theoretical agreements and disagreements; my view is partial on this topic.

There are several reasons why written assessments in today`s world to judge student`s performance is effective?. Most of educational institutes all around the globe are following the method of written examination to evaluate the overall performance. In other words, this method of evaluation of student`s performance is successful from ancient times. Lets take an example of school where overall performance of student is evaluated through written examination. After results , detailed mark sheet will clearly define the overall performance of student; moreover, this result will guide him about his weak areas and strong points for his future performance.

On the other hand , new innovations and technology advancements changes the educational systems. In other words, usage of gadgets like Mobile,computers and other electronic devises is increased dramatically in past two decades.; However, only 30% of world`s population is using these gadgets but the demand of technical persons is increasing. It is clear that these technicians need more practical training then written literature, moreover, their performance will only be evaluated through practical skill contests. Practical skill contests are defined their performance more accurately then written assignments and helpful for their future performance.

While there are strong arguments on both sides of coin. My personal opinion is that both written and practical assignments are required to access the performance of students.and the combination of both will evaluate the accurate performance of students and this will be beneficial for their future ventures.