How do you think the crime would reduce – with harsher punishments or moral teachings? Discuss both the views and take a stand?

Nowadays crime rate is gradually increasing, therefore governments of all the countries look for remedial actions to be taken up in order to mitigate the prevailing situation. Some people argue that punishment should be imposed on criminals while some argue that moral teaching can controll the situation.

On my point of view, if capital punishment is implemented the criminal does not have an opportunity to correct themselves. Sometimes if he was charged due to the loopholes of the law, the punishment cannot be withdrawn because he must be dead at the point of revealing the truth. Besides that governments has to bear a lucrative amount of funds to maintain the jails. However meditation programmes can be arranged during the imprisonment time which can change the physiology and psycology of the prisoners. Since people are different to each other the strategy to rehabilitate each one is different to each other.

In conclusion it is recommended to implement a moral teaching programmes inside the jails, together with the punishment other than capital punishment. This approach can make them regret on their crimes and also it will help them to come to the correct path and find their real strengths. Together with the moral teaching it is better if governments can provide them with vocational training.