The idea of going overseas for a university degree is an exciting prospect for many people. But while it may offer some advantages, it is probably better to stay home because of the difficulties a student inevitably encounters living and studying in a different culture. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this statement.

Support your point of view with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The concept of studying abroad to acquire a college degree can be an awesome experience for various individuals. However, others believe that it is a more favorable option to stay in one's home country due to hardships one has to take while staying in the other nation. In my point of view, I partially assent to the foregoing argument due to broadening of perspective and uneasy cultural adaptation, respectively. This essay will discuss my justifications for the stated reasons.

To begin with, several people are aiming to study in a foreign land just to complete their studies. With this crucial decision in life, one can be able to widen his opportunities to develop skills in many aspects. Studying abroad can allow more diverse knowledge and learnings about theories and principles as the environment is more conducive on these places. A brand new atmosphere can open one's mind to infinite possibilities and can also reveal an individual's full potential. To illustrate, pupils gained more insights in life while having their student's exchange program in the US.

On the other hand, drawbacks of choosing to study overseas cannot also be ignored. It is a matter of fact that culture of other nation is at first difficult to comprehend. Adjustment stage may take time for the student who is not open enough to understand other country's culture particularly in varied language. He may experience culture shock in his new environment and consequently, cannot be able to function well in schools. For example, foreign students are having a hard time learning French language which could hinder communication.

To recapitulate, studying in foreign countries can make better opportunities for learning but still adjustment period can also be a problem at the start. Perhaps, it will all depend on the person on how he will carry himself with this circumstance.