Marketing strategies for big companies should be placed on offer and discounts, and in what ways this can impact on their reputation?

Nowadays, big companies offer heavy discounts and schemes which have attracted many controversies and drawn attention from the public. Some people claim that these marketing strategies benefit the common people in terms of their purchasing power, while on the other hand, stands a perspective that they have adverse effects on the goodwill of the companies. This essay will elaborate on both sides and thus, will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are various arguments in favour of companies offering these types of marketing and promotional strategies. The most conspicuous one is that customers always price sensitive and by this way, companies lure the customers to buy more. Furthermore, these companies increase their revenues by attracting customers through heavy discounts and schemes, eye-catchy offers and hassle-free shopping strategies. Thus, it shows that these big corporations enjoy the benefits of the rise in sale and goodwill for the sake of customer’s expectations.

Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks, which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of the marketing strategies placed by the companies. The most alarming one is that these companies sell low-quality products and compromise on its reputation. For instance, there are cases where local people have experienced counterfeit merchandise and poor after-sale services. Furthermore, the corporations bear the heavy cost of marketing and promotion which eventually increases their cost of production. Hence, in this way, the reputation of the companies selling suffers a damage.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the impact of the marketing strategies by the big corporations is prominent, although the company should try to maintain its reputation.