One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing, is this a curse or blessing?

The effects of improved medical care, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of upgraded medical treatments has sparked over the potential impact of this trend on the increased life expectancy of people. It can be agreed that living longer has some positive impacts. However, some people claim that it has negative results as well. This essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of enhanced medical care. And, this will lead to a logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are numerous reasons why people believe that advancement in health care is a tremendous blessing. The most conspicuous one stems from the fact that by extending humans life their knowledge and experience can be shared with others. For instance, if astronomers or scientists live for an extended age, they can distribute their wealth of extensive knowledge with others. Longevity, therefore, can play a vital role in increasing knowledge and experience of individuals.

On the other hand, few people adopt an opposing view. They tend to consider that prolonged life expectancy is a curse, but the most predominant one lies in the fact that old people do not retire from their jobs. Therefore, resulting in added unemployment. For example, in a few countries, the number of senior citizens are immensely high and they continue jobs for an extended period of time. It results in lesser job opportunities for younger generations. Also, increased life expectancy will result in more population. It will increase pressure on new renewable resources. There will be more pollution and congestion everywhere. Hence, increased lifetime due to superior medical treatments can result in rising unemployment and pressure on planet earth.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that the impact of betterment in medical care is prominent. But, it also has some drawbacks that should be accordingly handled.