Road rules are generally enforced by fining people for infringements. Some people, however, believe that governments should not penalize unsafe drivers but reward safe drivers instead. Which view do you support?

In the time of modern era, one of the major cause of death is road accidents. It is often argued that people who do not follow the traffic rules should be penalized or rule followers should be rewarded instead. This essay will discuss, how penalizing the unsafe drivers is the best way to maintain road safety.

At the outset, it is well researched that fear of criminal proceedings and fine is the best motivation to avoid the crimes. Stricter are the procedure post any accident, more careful will be drivers. For instance, if a driver is drunk and is aware of the consequences would more likely to avoid driving instead of caring about rewards. Thus, it is safe to say that fear of criminal procedure and strict penalties would be the best bet to ensure road safety.

There are few people who advocate on rewarding the safe drivers instead. These people fail to understand the impact it will have on the country's economy. For example, in a city, if 80 percent of drivers follow rule and are safe drivers then it would require lot of money to monitor and reward each and every one of them. Therefore, it is safe to say that penalizing the rule breakers would be the optimal solution.

This essay discussed, how fining people for infringements would not only impact economy but will also maintain the sense of responsibility in its citizen. In my opinion, penalizing the rule breakers is the only way to enforce the road rules and road safety.