Road rules are generally enforced by fining people for infringements. Some people, however, believe that governments should not penalize unsafe drivers but reward safe drivers instead.

Which view do you support?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, due to increasing number of cars, governments have chosen alternative methods to enforce car drivers to follow driving regulations and consequently reducing the number of accidents. one of this regulation was imposing fines on unsafe drivers. Some people believe that penalizing unsafe drivers is the right solution to make roads more safer, while others argue that safe drivers deserve rewards for their safe driving. This essay will discuss the reasons why governments should penalize unsafe drivers regardless the behavior of safe drivers.

Governments should penalizing unsafe drivers because their behaviors affect significantly on other lives. Safe drivers are exposed to dangerous injuries due to careless of unsafe drivers. Recent research, which was conducted in the Cambridge university, has shown that 95% of cars accidents are happened because of driving in higher speed more than the allowed speed, which led to increasing number of deaths by 30%. Therefore, it seems clear that governments should impose more fines to change the behavior of unsafe driver and protect other drivers lives.

On the other hand, some people think that safe drivers deserve rewards for their safe driving. Applying rewards motivates safe drivers to continue driving safe and they become a good model to be followed. But these people are unaware of the fact that number of safe drivers is very large which contrasts the number of unsafe drivers. Governments do not own the abilities to reward all the safe drivers. Thus, applying fines on unsafe drivers is very important to change their behavior.

In conclusion, this essay discussed why the governments should impose fined on unsafe drivers and should not reward safe drivers. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that applying fine on unsafe drivers is the best method to reduce the number of cars accidents and to protect road users lives.