In some countries around the world, voting is compulsory.Do you agree with the notion of compulsory voting?If it is compulsory in a democratic society, what conclusions can we draw about ‘Nature of democracy?’

Compulsory voting in a democratic society is undeniably a controversial topic as it raises a question: how democratic a nation will be with or without compulsory voting. This system has many benefits to the nation if it is implemented in a right manner. In this essay, we will discuss the nature of democracy with few examples of compulsory voting.

Democracy is also known as a Republic, is a governing system where the citizens of the country vote to one of the several parties competing for the President’s position. If only 30% of the people vote then the outcome of the election will be unfair, as those who did not vote may not like the party that won the election. For instance, In America, Bill Clinton won when mere 34% of the total population voted. Similarly in India on an average, only 50 to 55% of the people vote and rest have to accept the rules drafted by the unwanted members of the parliament.

Turning to the compulsory casting of the vote, in Australia casting vote is compulsory since last 80 years. Almost 90% of the public participates and there is a little fine for those who don’t participate. Moreover, in South American nations like Peru and Bolivia, there is harsh punitive action against those who don’t vote. For example, Non-Voters are barred from accessing their own bank accounts for up to 3 months. This is the reason there are some people who are against compulsory voting.

In a nutshell it can be said that compulsory casting of a vote is an imperative step in a democratic society, however, its implication in a friendly manner is of vital importance. So compulsory voting is mandatory for a democracy to be a democracy.