Some say that in today’s world the value of humanities has been eclipsed by the necessity of preparing for specific wealth-producing careers, such as medicine. Discuss whether you think there is a role in today’s changing world for study of the humanities.

Most of the governments, as well as businesses are overwhelmed by the commercialization in 21st century. It is strongly agreed that, more prominence is given to producing wealth, rather than studying humanities. The reasons for this tragic circumstances are, governments encourage businessmen to generate more wealth to the nation and businessmen, on the other hand, make efforts to multiply their revenues.

To begin with, nowadays, most of the governments are promoting campaigns that generate more wealth to their nations. They never genuinely invest their money in raising awareness about public health, supporting under-privileged citizens or even other poor countries, unless they have some gain from it. For instance, countries like USA, which worship capitalism as their Holy Grail, are only interested in becoming wealthy; furthermore, they consider their military power as their biggest strength.

Moreover, private businessmen are focused in making their revenues graphs to skyrocket. Of course, they conduct events to meet their cooperate social responsibility criterion; however that is merely a source of marketing for them. For example, companies take their companies worker to a beach cleaning campaign and most people participate just to take a picture and post it in social media. No one is actually putting their heart to it.

In conclusion, governments or businessmen have no genuine interest in investing in studying the humanities. Unfortunately, they are interested in creating careers that generate wealth. Hence, it the social obligation of governments, as well as millionaire to promote studying humanities, to make the world a better place.