Successful sports stars and glamorous film stars are a role model for youngsters. Do you support it or not?

Recently, the phenomenon of becoming famous peoples as a role model for youngsters and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that the matter of choosing the right public figure is highly rewarding, some opponents argued about its negative aspects. I am profoundly inclined to believe that following the right person as a role model not only could be beneficial, but also could bring many merits for the young generation, and this essay will examine both sides by providing some academic evidence before concluding.

From a social standpoint, following successful persons could provide a society with some noticeable effects which are rooted in hardworking and its corresponding results. Furthermore, many of the athletes are participating in some charity programs which could be a good motivation for their young followers. From my own experience when I was a college student and I participated in academic research in our University, most of the young students are willing to follow the famous actors’ footstep in some useful community services.

On the other hand, some opponents claim their arguments about the demerits of following famous actors. They are using valid logic to support that some of these public figures may involve in drug use or some racial discrimination, and as a consequence, these disorder behaviors affected young followers. According to an academic research conducted by Tehran University, many of famous singers, especially the younger one, did not obey the ethical values of the society which could have some detrimental impacts on their advocators.

To recapitulate, I pen down saying that following the celebrities is like a two-edged sword, and it is on young generation to choose wisely who to follow. Moreover, governments could set some preventing rules to decrease some social damage.