In under developed countries, tourism has disadvantages and can be said the opposite as well. Discuss.

Globetrotting is quite common nowadays, and plays an important role in the growth of developing nations. In my opinion, the underdeveloped countries needs to promote tourism because, it boosts up the economy, generates employment and provides a great opportunity to promote art and culture.

Tourism is one of the strongest drivers of world trade and prosperity. In many countries, tourism acts as an engine for development through foreign exchange earnings and the creation of direct and indirect employment. Tourism contributes 5% of the world’s GDP. Tourism is the first or second source of export earnings in 20 of the world’s 48 least developed countries. In some developing countries, notably small island states, tourism can account for over 25% of GDP.

Tourism is a relatively labor intensive sector and is traditionally made up of small and micro enterprises. Many tourism jobs are potentially quite accessible to the poor as they require relatively few skills and little investment. People can get engaged in jobs like transportation, lodging, tour guides, entertainment, agents, planner, cruise line staff, curators, life guards and recreation workers to name a few. In addition to it tourists can get benefits from a wide range of sectors such as agriculture, handicrafts and language translators.

Finally, with tourism, exchange of culture, knowledge, art, and skills take place. Country like India attract many international tourists for its rich and diverse culture, spirituality, yoga, meditation techniques, naturopathy, fairs, festivals, cinema, dance and other art forms. Every nation has its uniqueness. It is up to the country to realize its strengths, which can be exploited for encouraging tourism and building relations.