University only requires applying digital media rather than continuously upgrading textbook. Agree or disagree.

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is to upgrading content through digital media rather than printing textbooks. There is a widespread worry that this would only lead to a myriad of concerns. In my opinion, this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.

There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that with the advance technology and their wide applications have significant impact on education system. Most of the students at university or college own portable devices such as iPad, laptop, mobile phone and notebook. Recognizing the increased number of electronic device, publishers are offering their books in digital format which are easy to download and reduce the time and money for both students and universities. Needless to say, all these merits stand digital media in good stead, as far as time and money is concerned.

Another pivotal aspect of this argument is that every updated semester universities can edit the content through social networking websites and post in college website instead of printing the whole textbook again. Moreover, students also prefer e-books nowadays. For instance, recently a survey conducted by University of California showed that out of 100 students 85 students are choosing digital e-books are source of study.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that the benefits of upgrading content and providing online information to the student are indeed too great to ignore.