According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The memo from advertising director of Super Screen Movies, states that, though the movies from this production company received many positive reviews, the viewers are not aware about the quality of movies from this production. So, they decided to increase their budget, on advertising, so that the positive reviews of their movies, reach the people through advertising. The advertising director makes these arguments, based on some assumptions, some of which are mentioned below.

To start with, the director makes a statement that, even though, the percentage of positive reviews has increased last year, the viewers of the movies has not increased. Perhaps, the advertising director is in an assumption, that with an increase in the positive reviews, the viewership of the movies must also increases. What if, the viewers does not consider, the reviews that each movie recieves after its release, to watch the movies. Moreover, the viewers may depend on other sources, to decide if a movie is of good quality or not. If the reason above stated by me is true, than the argument of the advertising director, does not hold water.

Secondly, the director wants to increase the budget for advertising the movies, in an assumption that viewership of the movie increases, if the advertising of a movie increases. Maybe, the viewers are least bothered with the advertising of a movie, to judge the quality of a movie being good or bad. Perhaps, the viewers want the best and famous cast and crew members, for the viewers to treat the movie as high quality movie. If the above scenario is true, then the directors argument is significantly weakened.

Thirdly, the director must provide clear proofs, that after increasing the advertising of the movies, the positive reviews for the movie still exist. Maybe, the negative reviews may dominate the positive reviews for the upcoming movies. If this becomes true, then the directors argument become spurious.

To conclude, if the director cannot provide robust evidences, for the assumptions mentioned above by me, the argument of the director becomes completely bogus.