Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

according to the statement, the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. The conclusion is drawn on the basis that deer movement from island to other island for food search is hindered due to impact of the global warming as it melts floating ice cube which is used by the deer to move another island. However, the conclusion drawn is skeptical as it fails to mention these three condition in the premises of the assumption.

Firstly, the population of the deer might be deceased due to the hunting. The conclusion was drawn on the basis only on the report from the hunter who involved in the deer hunting activities. The hunter may have killed the large population of the deer and try to absolve from the charge by pointing the natural irregularities. furthermore, they might make the advantage of the report of the global warming and secretly kill the large number of the population of the deer for their own purpose. Under these circumstances the conclusion drawn that decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Secondly, the conclusion that decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea, is contradictory. according to the statement above, it is presented that the necessity of the deer to move another place due to the winter due to freezing environment which inhibit the plant growth. if the temperature is increasing as per global warming record there certainly will be the probability of the plenty of the plant in that locality which indicates that there is still viable environment for the survival of the deer population without the old age pattern movement. thus there might be another factor for the decline in the deer’s population. thus, it seriously weaken the conclusion drawn from the inference.

Lastly, the population of the predator may be increased exponentially than the deer population. In instance, there might be availability of the numerous number polar bear and snow leopard which fully depend upon the deer for their survival. furthermore, there may be no availability of another source of the food for these carnivores.

In conclusion, the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea is based on the insubstantial evidences. The argument may be considered valid if it has provided answer for the above point.