Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

“When the last tree has been cut, and the last fish caught and the last river poisoned, only then we will realize that we cannot eat money “, a Native American maxim, clearly showcases the wrong ideology of our society and the priorities we set in our lives. It is so evident that with technological advancement, human are becoming materialistic and selfish. But sadly, such lifestyles comes at a heavy price of disturbing and destroying the natural environments. Human needs and greed has increased many folds while the earth’s system of replenishing resources is at the same pace. Thus to satisfy such demands, the humans have penetrated into the natural environments resulting in great imbalance among its elements.

In order to become ‘developed’ we have cleared forests and destroyed ecosystems to create monstrous cities with ginormous built form. Humans have destroyed the earth with activities such as mining and oil extraction. The top soil which is the most critical for growing flora has been heavily meddled with and damaged it. Moreover human activities has also resulted in poisoning and populating the water and air too. But sadly the humans don’t realize that to sustain such monstrous urban areas we need natural environment as well. Thus destroying natural environments has resulted in harming ourselves directly and indirectly.

The earth doesn’t need humans, humans need the earth. According to research, if humans cease to exist today, the earth will degrade and destroy all the evidence pertaining to human existence and forget about human species all together. Human have to realize that they are not superior to any other sort of species or above them. Instead they are very much a part of the ecosystem with a role to play in it. We depend on the entire ecosystem for our existence. The earlier the humans realize this fact, we can hope for a better future.

Thus preserving nature has now become one of the most critical issues of the 21st century and no economic gain can ever supersede the environmental benefits of wilderness in their natural state. Moreover this task cannot be taken over by any one individual or organization. It has to be a collective effort which has to be taken up by nations, organizations and agencies across the world. Creation and amendment of polices and law and educating the masses should be done, involving all the organizations and agencies, to increase the awareness about preserving nature only then we can hope for a better future for ourselves.