Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is a fact of modern society that commercials have been becoming increasingly popular in people’s life. Despite some drawbacks, I think this phenomenon should be considered as progress due to its tremendous merits.

Critics of the advertising industry point out a host of reasons. First and foremost, advertisements are more likely to become a tool for producers to exaggerate the attributes of their products, which leads to various problems. To illustrate, many gullible customers would buy low-quality products whose values are overstated on social networking websites like Facebook, which not only make them feel annoying but also deteriorate their health in many cases. Furthermore, the amount of expenditure spent on advertising is too high, being attributed to the escalation of living costs. One way to explain this is that sellers would pass on advertising fees to end consumers in form of higher prices of their items.

Advocates, however, assert that the ubiquity of commercials is conducive to rising living standards and enormous job opportunities. Regarding the former, the widely-spread of advertisement would keep people well-informed about diverse products that may help them find it easier to choose suitable things. Turning to the latter, the development of the advertising industry paves the way for new vacancies for a huge number of people, especially those who can think outside the boxes or who master computer skills. It is exemplified by an ever-increasing number of young graduates getting well-paid jobs in marketing companies thanks to being competent in particular fields like editing or designing.

In conclusion, in spite of the downsides associated with exaggeration and higher prices, this trend still should be seen as a welcome development when it comes to convenience and lucrative careers.