Being a celebrity – such as a famous film star or sports personality – brings problems as well as benefits.

Do you think that being a celebrity has more benefits or problems?

Living in glamor and stardom is a lifestyle which fascinates most people, especially young generations. Nonetheless, everything has two sides, having fame and fortune may be compensated by another price. In my opinion, the minus points exceed the plus points.

From one angle, public figures could gain benefits for their personal lives. Profit, to be exact, is the prime factor that comes first. Renounced celebrities such as movie superstars or sports legends could earn money in an effortless fashion, making them millionaire instantly. For example, Cornor McGregor, a former mixed martial arts champion, gained an average income of 10 million dollars per month. This put him in the top fighters within the hall of fame in combat sports history. He used to be a plumber, fixing faucets and saving every penny to make a living for his family. But on his entry to the UFC company and in progress to become one of the top fighters, his life has completely changed. The second advantage of well-known people is public conviction. In other words, the more successful and famous a figure is, the more power to persuade other people he has. It is scientifically proved that people are prone to exactly doing what their favorite characters do as they wish to be like them. That is the reason why products endorsed by celebrities are perfectly sold well to the general public.

Nevertheless, I believe the drawbacks would absolutely dominate the above benefits. Firstly, being a famous person is associated with privacy intrusion, which could be challenging and bothersome. It is definitely uncomfortable to imagine that every step outside home would be in sight of sneaky paparazzi ready to capture images anytime. A private stroll should probably turn out to be problematic because of such photo hunters, stalking and posting poises on media pages. Secondly, being a public figure means more burden of vigilance on utterances. As compared to an ordinary person, a showbiz singer must pay greater attention to what he says in interviews. A word of profanity could jeopardize his career, making the whole audience turning their back on him. Being very attentive to speech might be a good practice, yet it places people in an oppressing situations, for it deters the speakers from giving their ideas naturally, and may sometimes put them in a bad mood. Lastly, famous figures might find it extremely difficult to cope with an enormous amount of workload, let alone consequent psychological issues. The majority of film stars complain about hectic working schedules, allow them no time for recreation, even time for themselves. They therefore normally fall into frustration or depression, using ecstasy as a stress reliever.

In conclusion, the shiny life of a celebrity is the one that many aspire to; the upsides can follow promptly, but the predominant downsides can be attached with them too.