Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

In the world today, there are several problems when cars and cyclists share the same road. This essay will outline a number of reasons for this trend and a number of possible solutions to help tackle the issue.

To begin with, one of the main issues was a lack of awareness when joining the traffic. Car drivers are not always aware when cyclists accidentally share the same road, which leads to traffic jams. For instance, the drivers fail to notice the cyclist approaching from behind. The driver abruptly turns into the cyclist's path, causing a collision. The cyclist may suffer injuries, and both the cyclist and driver may experience shock and distress. On top of that, the speed between car and driver is always different. Cyclists generally travel at a low speed compared to cars, which are annoying to the driver and lead to aggressive behaviour. In specific circumstances, for example, if a car driver has a meeting and is extremely quick, there will be an accident if the driver speeds up and gets in the way of a cyclist. It causes undesirable consequences.

There are a number of viable solutions to help tackle this problem. Firstly, not only car drivers but also cyclists should learn traffic regulations. It supports those who promote mutual understanding and respect between two groups. The government also includes traffic rules into the course curriculum so that both students and teachers have enough knowledge about traffic regulations. Secondly, many transports reduce the speed and improve the infrastructure. Developing a dedicated cycling lane separated from vehicles can provide significant safety for cyclists. There should be penalties for vehicles that go in the wrong lane; it will reduce the number of accidents.

To sum up, there are main contributors to the problem, and several measures are suggested to put an end to the situation.