Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the responsibility of protecting the environment. While many argued that politicians should be in charge of environmental protection, I am more convinced that each individual should take that issue into account.

On the one hand, it is common to say that authorities must take action to protect the environment as they have power and the attention of citizens in the country. For example, the rice president can change related environmental issues by opening an investigation or shutting down companies that are on the list of potentially harming the surrounding environment. Additionally, there are some problems such as global warming, prolonged droughts, or other extreme weather events that are too big for individuals to deal with. Therefore, only governments can provide special equipment, modern technological devices to experienced scientists to find effective solutions to tackle those problems.

However, I believe that individuals also play a vital role in environmental protection. First, by turning used items such as plastic bottles into new items, we can cut down on waste and energy consumption. Moreover, composting food waste will help create nutrient-rich soil instead of making it become landfill waste. Second, transport conservation is another thing we can do since one of the biggest sources of greenhouse gases is transportation. If citizens are encouraged to travel by public transport instead of private vehicles like cars, this will reduce a considerable amount of gas emissions which is the main cause of air pollution. From these points, we can confirm that if one person does the right things, the result is nothing but when all people do the right things, the result would be massive.

In conclusion, environmental responsibility is shown to be more significant where an individual believes in the efficacy of their pro-environmental behaviour and where the self is perceived to be a responsible agent compared with other social agents.