Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the protection of the environment is the government's obligation rather than individuals. In my opinion, I think that protecting the earth is the responsibility of both governments and individuals

On the one hand, It is true that some environmental issues are too big for individuals to deal with. In order for serious problems, such as global warming, prolonged droughts, violent storms, or other extreme weather events, to be effectively addressed, it requires the efforts and cooperation of politicians and large environmental organizations. This is because solving such problems requires special equipment, the use of modern technological devices and large numbers of experienced scientists to work together. For instance, it takes years for researchers to collect various samples and analyze huge amounts of data in order to know the major causes of global warming and to help them find the most effective solutions to tackle this problem. Only governments can have sufficient funds and resources to invest in this.

On the other hand, there are various proactive measures to preserve the planet by residents. Initially, inhabitants should use public transport instead of private vehicles which can diminish the toxic emissions, as well as the main cause of global warming. Besides, using increasingly biodegradable packing or cloth-made bags will be contributed to reduce domestic waste when shopping for groceries. I think that without the cooperation of both politicians and individuals, environmental issues will never be effectively tackled. For example, if farmers continue to burn forests for their own purposes, regardless of the government’s regulations, the problem of climate change will never be successfully mitigated.

In conclusion, for the reasons aforementioned above, I believe that protecting the environment is the task of both politicians and individuals.